Abortion (Touchy Topics)

Image

I’m curious to know what some of your opinions are when it comes to abortion. I know abortion is an especially touchy topic in today’s society, but a friend of mine and I got into a long conversation about this topic this last night that never really ended.

He is for abortion. 😦 Just so you all know I am against abortion, thus the cute little babies in the picture above 🙂

I am not one to show animosity towards anyone for what they believe in. I am mainly just curious to understand the reasoning one would have considering abortion; and he likewise the opposite.

When I was younger I have always held these same views for the most part. I was always against abortion, but due to lack of knowledge at the time I thought it was okay to undergo the operation as long the female’s belly wasn’t big. Huh? What does that even mean? Again I was young. As I grew older and gained knowledge from various classes and life situations I started thinking,”Okay as long as the female has an abortion before a month or so it’s okay because the baby couldn’t possibly be a baby at that point, right?”

Some may say it comes down to a play on words.

The word fetus refers to an unborn offspring between 9 weeks of conception until birth. Generally people who are ‘for abortion’ refer to the unborn offspring as a fetus and always have the need to mention that a ‘baby’ by definition refers to a recently born child. “The fetus has not been recently born and therefore is not a baby and therefore is not alive and therefore it is not murder and therefore…”

On the other hand, people who are ‘against abortion’ will refer to the unborn offspring as a child. A child, ‘a young human being below the age of puberty’, ‘the descendants of a family or people’, ‘a person or thing influenced by a specified environment’, etc. Sounds like a child to me. The death of a child can apply when the unborn offspring growing inside of their mother dies(by definition.) By this logic abortion is clearly considered as murder and therefore should be illegal.

There a millions of different facts and statistics on both sides of this argument just like with many other touchy topics such as racism, gay marriage, illegal citizens, etc. Normally I wouldn’t post about any of these topics – if people want to be racist well let them be racist (even though I believe in equality for all), if gay men and lesbian women want to get married…welll…. why not???? (I support gay marriage), and if illegal citizens or aliens blah blah blah

However, for this topic I wouldn’t feel right saying, “If people want to have abortions then go ahead and kill your babies!” No no no. I guess that is why I’m writing.

DID YOU KNOW!:

– Just after 3 weeks of fertilization the eyes and spinal cord of the offspring are visible!!

– Just after 4 weeks of fertilization the heart of the offspring actually begins to beat!!!

– and just after……..

….wait a minute….

4 weeks pregnant… and the heart of the offspring is already beginning to beat… and there are people out there who believe that that elegant sound of the offspring’s heart rhythmically beating is not enough evidence of life…and that murder has nothing to do with abortion… hmmmm

Apologies for all of the “Pro-Abortion” people reading this post. I know this has been extremely biased. I will say my bipolar disorder comes out a little when I start thinking about the women who are raped and impregnated. Rape, from what I have heard, is one of the worst life experiences for a female to go through. And then finding out that the cowardly attacker has gotten you pregnant is a feeling I don’t believe us men will ever be truly able to comprehend.

That being said, I have always basically turned a blind eye and neglected those conversations. I want to say it is okay for the female to get an abortion in those scenarios only if she gets it done expediently. No more than a month. But I still feel bad just saying that. It is never okay. But maybe in that situation… what about other situations… You see… damn touchy topics… playing with my head again.

Let’s end this depressing, stressful, emotions builder upper of a post with something funny. (Probably not funny, I am just making this up now.)

Boy: Hey girl, I hear you against abortion… so let’s have sex!

Girl: Why would I have sex with you?

Boy: Well you are against abortion… so that means at any stage it is still considered murder.

Girl: And your point is?

Boy: Well you see if we don’t have sex I am going to masturbate killing millions of sperm cells… aka millions of babies. Sex with you could possibly save one of them. I thought you were against the killing of babies!!!

Girl: Well… I guess you are right… :drops pants:

What if that actually worked?

Thanks for reading everyone. Please feel free to respond with your own opinions and insight on the issue.

– Derek

P.S. I encourage everyone to watch the music video posted below. It’s a father’s song to his aborted child. Sad song with powerful lyrics.

 

15 comments on “Abortion (Touchy Topics)

  1. I admire your courage in discussing such a hot-button topic. I’m also against abortion, and like to have rational debates with those who are for it, since many of my friends and family fall into that category. Thank you for your post!

    • Thank you for reading. I also enjoy having rational debates on similar touchy topics… for instance the one I am currently having right now in the comments section on gay marriage haha. Maybe that’ll be the topic for my next post. It is always great hearing other people’s opinion and knowing just why they feel a certain way about one topic or another.
      – Derek

  2. Homosexual activiity is intrinsically evil and by definition can never involve marriage because it inherently thwarts the unitive & procreative dimensions of sexual conduct

    • Hello Mr. Larry,
      You raise a valid point. I was debating between which to write about; gay marriage or abortion. When thinking about these topics I like to use similarly related situations. The majority of the reasons people argue over gay marriage today are almost identical to the reasons women. Before the 15th Amendment to the Constitution was passed Black men were not allowed to even vote in the United States. Many laws including the “Jim Crow” laws forbade Blacks to vote. Then the 19th Amendment was passed allowing women to vote when there were many laws and justifications against it. I believe men and women of all colors should have always had the right to vote. Just like how I feel homosexuals should have always been allowed to marry each other. Just like with voting there are plenty of laws and justifications against it. I commonly hear talk about “Pro-Creation” , but how can people begin to bring that up when more and more hetero households are adopting? How would that be different than a gay couple adopting? Why is gay marriage really a bad thing in your opinion? And the big question, and what should be the most important question, how would gay marriage effect your life? I honestly don’t think it would.
      – Derek

  3. Alysa says:

    “Apologies for all of the “Pro-Abortion” people reading this post. I know this has been extremely biased.”
    You should not apologize for being anti-abortion. Advocating for those who have no voice is highly admirable. After I wrote my pro-life blog post yesterday, I came across the following video. You may be interested in it also… http://www.ijreview.com/2014/03/125571-little-girls-unbelievably-powerful-speech-abortion-left-pro-choice-teacher-speechless/

    • Hey Alysa,
      That little girl is amazing. I want my daughter to be as well spoken as she is. The only reason I apologized is because I don’t want to be another one of those people who bash others for their way of thinking and their beliefs. Yes, they may be wrong, but I guess in their minds they are right. Just like we are. I just simply wanted to raise awareness, state my point, and wonder how the rest of you all think. Trust me, I have received very hateful emails about that blog this past week. Oh well. Everyone has their own opinions. Hopefully my post has made some people rethink their beliefs on this opinion now knowing a little more from my point of view about abortion.
      I’m glad you commented. I have shared that video with many of my friends who all thoroughly enjoyed it as well.
      #ProLife
      – Derek

  4. dollylovesrain says:

    Abortion is illuminati / feminist / ‘pro choice’ propaganda scam thats been ingrained so deeply into society it’s been accepted as a rational option. If you look into the roots of ‘Planned Parenthood’ + Gloria Steinem, they have Illuminati backing, it’s a government tool of depopulation, as MJ so clearly states “They don’t really care about us.” It devalues the absolute core moral/ spiritual code of being Human…That a baby can be torn from it’s mother’s womb… This is from a non judgemental point of view as its a deeply personal topic. As a young teen, frightened + alone it can seem like the only option. When I was pregnant with my daughter much later in life, I had this disturbing dream where a child appeared to me. It started this grieving process of all the guilt I carried- + why did I carry that? Because my actions didn’t resonate with my soul. I inflicted pain + ended the life of something sacred that was a part of me. Don’t tell me that doesn’t have spiritual consequences on this planet, mass infanticide? Where is the love? I believe part of the consciousness shift on earth will be humanity waking up to this con, same with the mass slaughter of animals, all life is precious. And hats off to all the young, single moms who society look down on, they are the brave ones. Sorry for the long post! Good to see someone start a conversation that matters.

    • Hey Dolly,
      Don’t apologize for the long post. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. You raise many interesting points as well. Especially about depopulation. I read several articles about the government having tools to cure diseases such as cancer and STDs however they will not release them to the public because they feel many people need to die. Depopulation. I am glad I wrote this post. I have been receiving many interesting points from friends and other bloggers about abortion and similar topics. Some even brought up Illuminati backing as well. Something interesting to think about and further look into.
      Thanks again for your feedback.
      – Derek

  5. Mandi says:

    Wow, thank you for jumping out on a limb and writing what you knew you might be attacked for. I’m glad it looks like you haven’t been. I also am very against abortion. I don’t understand how anyone looking at the facts, science, doesn’t see. I’m not trying to belittle, I honestly just don’t understand. Before I crashed on my face with BPD almost 3yrs ago I was a publicist. 3-4 of my clients fought against abortion. I also worked for a radio show doing opposite, finding a guest, which in several instances meant talking with higher profile guest’s pro-abortion (the show was against, debate). I hope to get to a point where I can do that again. Working with those clients helped me feel like I was playing a small part in making a difference. I believe your writing plays a much bigger part in making a difference. You’re reaching a crowd of people, some who don’t agree, that just read facts that might give reason to re-think. I admire you for taking a chance with such a difficult subject!

    • Thank you for your feedback Mandi,
      I don’t like to judge people and their way of thinking, but with certain topics and situations I find it extremely difficult holding my tounge. When I thought about writing this post I told myself I would do my best to stay indifferent and unbiased… we see how that went. BPD is a pain in the butt to live with. Especially when everyone around us has no idea what it is exactly that we are going through. I don’t mind the people that completely hate my post. I have actually received several personal emails from people about this topic. Some good… but most of them full of curse words. Oh well. I am glad to reach out to as many people as I do. I have always kept to myself for the most part. Now I am finding pleasure in knowing my writing is playing a part, no matter how small it is, in making other people’s lives’ better and more understanding. It’s hard writing about difficult subjects, but I have found they are the topics that helps people out the most.
      – Derek

      • Mandi says:

        I’m internal/quiet borderline but have absolutely no tolerance for cowards who are too afraid to stand up for what they feel is right publicly, whether I agree or not. I’ve gotten hateful emails just for writing about how I feel. I don’t have a right to discount or say that I know how anyone else feels, I can only say how BPD affects me. But it does very much feel like the vast majority don’t have/want even a little glimpse of what it’s like to be borderline and are pretty judgmental about it. (I don’t write about that much because I get a load of hate mail!) That’s been one of the most difficult things for me, losing the support I thought I had due to ignorance. I’m sorry you’ve gotten those negative emails. I’m glad you didn’t stay indifferent though. 🙂 You showed a lot of strength and I know it’s helping others.

  6. lweyajoe says:

    i am really against abortion. that’s murder. i like your piece.

    • Thanks for your comment and taking the time out of your day to read my post.
      When it comes to topics, such as abortion, I find that many people can get very defensive rather quickly.
      Even though I am, for the most part, against abortion I always like to know the thoughts and feelings people may have toward this and similar topics.
      The way people think in today’s society… scary to say the least.
      Thanks again for reading. Your comment is truly appreciated.
      – Derek

  7. paulacarnell says:

    I also admire you for writing this post. I personally wouldn’t abort, but I am lucky that I have not been in a position where I would want to. The only time I have been pregnant at an inconvenient time I miscarried, taking the responsibility of such a decision away from me. I do believe that there are situations where carrying a child, particularly after a rape, would be an extremely challenging position to find yourself in. I also think that the recent film ‘Philomena’ really shows the pain from those girls in the 50s and 60s who had their children and then had them taken away from them. My former mother in law was one of those ladies and she has been in a life time of pain and grief. I also know people who have been adopted and they also have an unbearable sadness that seems impossible to reconcile. Then there are kids with ‘crap’ mothers, subjected to violence and abuse and sometimes in such a helpless state that their life seems destined to disaster. Who are we though to either judge or decide what should or should not be done.I read in one of Neal Donald Walsh books about his, (or Gods) theory about life and souls.It really resonated with me and helped me to forgive people who had really hurt me in the past. He writes that before we are born, all the awaiting souls are gathered and one steps forward saying to God that it wants to live as a human to experience pain and grief,( as in Heaven all they and God know is Love and to know what Love is you have to learn what it isn’t) God asked which of the other souls around would help the first soul achieve this experience? A brave soul stepped forward and said that he’d help, and give the first soul reason to experience pain and suffering, but that deep down they both knew it was requested and done with love.
    On reading this chapter I suddenly felt compassion and realised that what goes on here on earth is a mere blip, just a game and that what really matters is our souls and the ‘big picture’. The book goes on to explain that each soul has an agreement with it’s fellow souls, that saying that everyone comes into your life for a reason or a season….
    Therefore, getting back to abortion, and even murder of any human, comes back to an agreement between the two souls concerned. We all suffer, we all act on what feels right at one particular moment, we’re here playing roles between each other to learn what love is all about. If someone takes another’s life it helps me to believe that it was pre agreed, it still may be ‘wrong’, but we all get the chance to re evaluate what is right and what is wrong, we’re all here fighting our own battles and it would make everyone’s life easier if we could judge our selves and not feel or be judged by others.
    Would be a huge gamble, but what if we were all left to live by our own standards, would you then get people gravitating to others with similar values and views? Maybe that is the way forward, have some states or countries where abortion is allowed and accepted, those who needed or wanted it would move or visit there. Those who didn’t would move where it was outlawed. Eventually consciousness around the world would learn by example, ‘hey that community seem happy, content and loving, let’s learn from them…’
    Just my thoughts!

    • Wow Paula,
      That is an interesting point. Your way of moving forward seems to already be taking place as more states and countries are already making abortion illegal. Sooner or later we will begin statistics about happiness and general well being of citizens living in those areas vs. other areas. Again I am, for the most part, against abortion. But you won’t see me petitioning and picketing about it. Like you said, I definitely would not like being judged and therefore will not judge anyone else making them feel a certain type of way. We all have our own battles to fight. Some more than others. So why worry about everyone else’s?
      Just my thoughts 🙂
      – Derek

Leave a comment